ORGANISATION

The 10wastechallenge® encourages positive (individual and collective) environmental practices, particularly those associated with the litter problem on a global scale.

 

This initiative places an emphasis on action to eliminate littering and fly-tipping, which is polluting various habitats all over the world (forests, oceans, deserts, cities, etc.). Guided by the latest scientific knowledge, we use social media to make our activities and information accessible.  


We strive to achieve this goal by inspiring people from all walks of life to see this as their own cause. 



 

Beyond the eco-photo challenge, there is the desire to raise awareness across the generations so that the small changes made by everyone become lifetime habits. 


While we can delight at the growing number of ecological challenges popping up all over the Internet, we are particularly keen for our movement itself to be gradual and become embedded over time, until it becomes a sustainable enterprise.

OUR VISION

To live in a cleaner world, free of waste that has a negative impact on flora and fauna. 

A conscious and healthy global eco-community, shining a spotlight on the litter problem. By focusing on the elimination of “visible” pollution, the 10wastechallenge® is an additional, accessible way of halting the process by attacking the tip of the iceberg. 



 

 
 

OUR STORY

The 10wastechallenge® began life as a personal mission. Its founder, Belgian photographer Lorenzo Mancini, has been passionate about nature from a very young age. He is fascinated by its fragility and how we can protect it for future generations. ​

Like many others, he could no longer stand by and watch as more and more areas were polluted by litter, a phenomenon affecting even the most remote areas of the globe.


Nowadays, everyone is aware of this ecological problem, as well as the challenges it presents.



 

Eléonore & Lorenzo
Ko Tarutao, where the 10wastechallenge was born
(Thailand, 2019)

Upon his return from Asia, although the eco movement was already growing and making a noise on social media, he knew he had to expand the initiative’s reach while strengthening its identity.


The 10wastechallenge® was born.

Inspired by photography and contemporary modes of expression, Mancini developed the concept that has now gone viral and is widely reported by the media.


Buoyed by the level of interest and incredible numbers getting involved in this new positive movement, he went on to found the 10wastechallenge® community, with the main goal of spreading the message beyond the challenge and well beyond global borders.



 

Village in northern Chiang Dao
(Thailand, 2019)

IN FIGURES

 

The waste issue is much more than a news item flooding various media. It is a reality with a measurable daily impact, through the damage it inflicts on our flora and fauna, but also, on a more positive note, through the emergence of new materials and more sustainable modern technologies.   

Change is already happening! Triggered by alarming reports and a cascade of real destruction, a diverse range of action is being organised to reduce the devastating effects of human behaviour. 
Zero waste laws, bans on certain products proven to be dangerous, environmental movements, the design of new bio-based and biodegradable materials, education and increased awareness among young people... So many activities are demonstrating the shift in our society's attitude towards protecting the environment and our well-being. You don’t need to have a science PhD or be motivated by entrepreneurial or political ambitions in order to act. Anyone can start by looking at what they can do at home and in their own lives. 



 

The 10wastechallenge® is accessible to us all, translating this principle into a movement that encourages people to set aside at least ten minutes of their time, at regular intervals, to pick up litter. In towns and forests, on beaches and in museums, at their place of work or in their local area, when these small actions are performed by millions of people they help to clean up the spaces we inhabit, as well as improve our well-being in a sustainable way.  

Using the power of social media and the concept of the “useful selfie”, our movement has gone viral. It is encouraging others to take action by giving people the freedom to express their values and play their part alongside environmental organisations. 


By tackling visible pollution on our own, as a family, among friends or in a team, we are uniting our individual efforts within the common vision of a cleaner, healthier world.

 
 

OUR ACTIONS

For more information about ongoing and future actions, get in touch!

ECO-COMMUNITY

We are building an interdisciplinary network comprising specialists, ecology enthusiasts and, more broadly, people who convey their respect for the environment through the content they share.

Through our platform, we are creating a space for sharing knowledge and resources, to establish connections with others who are part of the environment movement.

Want to be part of our eco-community?

Join us!
 

LITTER-PICKING

We organise local events such as litter-picking sessions (during festivals and conferences), as well as inter-country and inter-institution challenges (schools, sports clubs, universities, companies).
These events are shared on social media and aim to raise awareness of the litter problem among the eco-community.


If you would like to organise an event in your region in partnership with 10wastechallenge®, get in touch!

THERE IS STILL HOPE

Our “There is still hope” concept encourages us to examine environmental issues from a positive angle.
With the strong conviction that conveying encouraging messages can motivate others to act, we invite each and every one of our supporters to complete this phrase and express their own hopes and positive visions for the planet. 

Share your message of hope with us!
 

 

OUR VALUES

RESPECT

The respect that each person shows for nature is underpinned by a commitment to preserving it. Knowing how to respect nature stems from knowing how to respect our present and future selves. Each action taken by our eco-community emerges from this context of respect and kindness.

SOLIDARITY

As a social value reinforced every time someone takes part in the 10wastechallenge, solidarity reflects the human-centred approach with which every member of our eco-community aligns, as we act together to protect the environment.

RESPONSABILITY

Before we implement our individual and group efforts, we need to be aware of our responsibility for the damage inflicted upon our environment. The purpose of our action is to preserve our natural environment and thereby leave behind a better legacy for future generations. 

10wastechallenge® is more than a challenge; it's a way of life.

Follow us:

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • Blanc Icône Instagram
  • Blanc Twitter Icon
  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône

#10wastechallenge

©2023 Conception graphique, iconographie et développement de ce site réalisés par 10wastechallenge®

L'ORGANISATION

Le 10wastechallenge® encourage les pratiques positives (individuelles ou collectives) liées à l’environnement, plus particulièrement celles associées à la problématique des déchets sauvages à l’échelle mondiale.


Cette initiative valorise les actions visant l’élimination des dépôts clandestins et illicites, à l’origine de la pollution de divers milieux aux quatre coins du globe (forêts, océans, déserts, villes, etc.). En phase avec l’actualité scientifique, nous popularisons notre action et l’information par l’usage des réseaux sociaux.


Nous nous efforçons d’atteindre cet objectif en inspirant les différents acteurs de la société afin qu’ils puissent s’investir dans une cause qui leur est propre. 

​Au-delà du challenge photographique au service de l’écologie, se cache la volonté de conscientiser les générations et d'installer chez tout un chacun de nouveaux automatismes pour que ceux-ci se transforment, à terme, en habitudes durables. ​ 

Si l’on peut se réjouir du nombre croissant de challenges écologiques émergeant sur la toile, nous mettons un point d’honneur à ce que notre mouvement, lui, soit progressif et s’inscrive davantage dans le temps, jusqu'à devenir une entreprise durable.

"The secret of change is to focus all of your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”

- Socrates

VISION

Vivre dans un monde plus propre et dépourvu de déchets impactant négativement la faune et la flore.

Le déploiement d'une éco-communauté globale, consciente et saine, faisant de la problématique des déchets sauvages une priorité. En passant par l'élimination de la pollution « visible », le 10wastechallenge® est un moyen supplémentaire, à la portée de tous, d'enrayer le processus en s'attaquant à la face émergée de l'iceberg. 



 

 
 

GENÈSE DU PROJET

Le 10wastechallenge® a débuté en tant qu’initiative personnelle.

Son fondateur, le photographe belge Lorenzo Mancini, se passionne depuis son plus jeune âge pour la nature, sa fragilité et sa sauvegarde.

 

Comme beaucoup, il n’a pu rester insensible face à la recrudescence des zones polluées par les déchets sauvages, phénomène touchant même les terres les plus reculées du globe.


Nul ne peut aujourd'hui ignorer cette problématique écologique ainsi que ses enjeux.

Eléonore & Lorenzo
Naissance du 10wastechallenge à Ko Tarutao
(Thailande, 2019)

À son retour d’Asie, tandis que le mouvement écologique était déjà grandissant et s’exprimait pleinement sur les réseaux, il semblait crucial d’élargir le spectre d’action de l’initiative tout en renforçant son identité. 
Le 10wastechallenge®  était né. 


S’inspirant de la photographie et des modes d’expressions contemporains, il développe le concept devenu viral et largement relayé par les médias. 


À la lumière du niveau d’intérêt et d’implication incroyable envers cette nouvelle mouvance positive, il fonde ensuite la communauté 10wastechallenge® dont le but premier est d’essaimer le message au-delà du challenge et bien au-delà des frontières.

Lorenzo
Village au nord de Chiang Dao
(Thailande, 2019)

EN CHIFFRES

 

La problématique des déchets est bien plus qu’un fait d’actualité qui inonde les différents médias, c’est une réalité dont l’impact est mesurable chaque jour, au travers des dommages occasionnés sur la faune et la flore, mais aussi, et plus positivement, par l’émergence de nouveaux matériaux et nouvelles technologies plus durables.

 

Aujourd’hui, l’émulation est à son comble ! Déclenchées par des constats alarmants et une cascade de bouleversements réels, des actions diversifiées voient le jour afin de réduire les ravages anthropocènes. Promulgations de lois zéro déchet, interdiction de certains produits avérés dangereux, mouvements proenvironnementaux, conception de nouveaux matériaux biosourcés et biodégradables, autant d’actions qui témoignent du virage que prend notre société en faveur de l’environnement et du bien-être.  Nul besoin d’être docteur en sciences, d’être animé par des ambitions entrepreneuriales ou politiques pour agir, chacun à son niveau est en mesure de poser des actions simples et répétées, chez soi.

À la portée de tous, le 10wastechallenge® véhicule ce principe au travers d’un mouvement qui incite à accorder au moins dix minutes de son temps, de manière répétée, au ramassage des déchets sauvages. En ville, en forêt, sur une plage ou dans un musée, sur son lieu de travail ou aux abords de chez soi, ces petites actions réalisées par des millions de personnes contribuent à l’assainissement de nos lieux de vie, et plus encore, à notre bien-être de façon durable.

Avec la puissance des réseaux sociaux, et le concept du selfie utile, notre mouvement, devenu viral, encourage à la prise d'actions en restituant aux gens la liberté d’exprimer leurs valeurs et d’entrer en scène au même titre que les organisations pro-environnementales. 

En s’attaquant à la pollution visible, seul, en famille, entre amis ou en équipe, nous unissons les efforts individuels au sein de la même vision d’un monde plus propre et plus sain.

"We don't have to engage in grand, heroic actions to participate in the process of change. 

Small acts, when multiplied by millions of people, can transform the world.”

- Howard Zinn

 
 

NOS ACTIONS

Pour plus de renseignement sur les actions en cours et à venir, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter !

ÉCOCOMMUNAUTÉ

Nous tissons un réseau interdisciplinaire composé de spécialistes, de passionnés de l’écologie et plus globalement de personnes qui, à travers le partage de leurs contenus, véhiculent leur considération ainsi que leur passion pour la nature.


Au travers de notre plateforme, nous créons un espace de partage de connaissances et de ressources afin d'établir des connexions avec d’autres acteurs du mouvement écologique.

Envie de faire partie de notre écocommunauté ? Rejoignez -nous !

COLLECTES DÉCHETS

Nous organisons des manifestations locales telles que des sessions de collectes (lors de festivals, de conférences), des challenges interinstitutions (écoles, clubs de sport, universités, sociétés), et inter-pays.
Ces manifestations sont relayées sur les réseaux sociaux et ont pour vocation de sensibiliser l’écocommunauté à la problématique des déchets sauvages.


Si vous désirez organiser un événement dans votre région en partenariat avec 10wastechallenge®, contactez-nous !

THERE IS STILL HOPE

Le concept du « there is still hope » consiste à considérer les enjeux environnementaux sous un angle positif.
Pleinement convaincus que véhiculer des messages encourageants peut initier une volonté d'agir chez autrui, nous invitons tout un chacun à parachever cette phrase à la lumière de ses propres espoirs et visions positives à l'égard de l'écologie. 

Partagez-nous votre message d'espoir ! 

 

NOS VALEURS

RESPECT

L’engagement pour la préservation de la nature sous-tend le respect que chaque personne lui dédie. Savoir respecter la nature revient à savoir se respecter soi-même mais également respecter son prochain. C'est de ce contexte respectueux et bienveillant qu'émerge chaque action entreprise par notre éco-communauté.

SOLIDARITÉ

Valeur sociale sous-tendue par chaque participation au 10wastechallenge, la solidarité reflète la démarche humaniste dans laquelle s’inscrit chaque membre de notre écocommunauté en agissant ensemble pour la préservation environnementale.

RÉSPONSABILITÉ

La prise de conscience de notre responsabilité vis-à-vis des dégâts occasionnés à notre environnement est un pré-requis nécessaire à la mise en oeuvre des efforts individuels et collectifs entrepris dans le but de préserver notre environnement naturel et en léguer ainsi un meilleur héritage aux générations futures. 

S'informer

Les enjeux

 

Blog

Espace dédiés


Presse

Dossier de presse

Emploi

Contactez-nous

Say Hello

10wastechallenge® is more than a challenge; it's a way of life.

Suivez-nous :

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • Blanc Icône Instagram
  • Blanc Twitter Icon
  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône

#10wastechallenge

©2023 Conception graphique, iconographie et développement de ce site réalisés par 10wastechallenge®